Inclement Weather Policy

As a standard procedure, given the difficulty of promptly notifying all students, the Institute will adhere to closures decided by Fairfax County Public Schools on weekdays and follow guidance from Fairfax County Park Authority on weekends in the event of inclement weather or whenever adverse conditions are forecasted.

There may be occasions when the Institute stays open for informal practice, and notifications for such instances will be communicated through our website and social media channels. Nonetheless, we urge you to prioritize safety by taking all necessary precautions and evaluating the safety of your travel route.

Check our website, Facebook, and Instagram accounts for up to date announcements about last minute class changes during inclement weather.

Holiday Schedule for 2024

We are closed on all Federal Holidays as well as the following dates:

New Year’s Holiday – 2024January 1 (Mon)
Martin Luther King DayJanuary 15 (Mon)
Chinese (Lunar) New YearFebruary 10 (Sat)
Presidents DayFebruary 19 (Mon)
EasterMar 31 (Sun)
Mother’s DayMay 12 (Sun)
Memorial DayMay 25 – 27 (Sat-Mon)
Father’s DayJune 16 (Sun)
JuneteenthJune 19 (Wed)
Independence DayJuly 4 (Thu)
Labor DayAug 31 – Sep 2 (Sat-Mon)
Indigenous People / Columbus DayOctober 14 (Mon)
Veteran’s DayNovember 11 (Mon)
Thanksgiving WeekendNovember 28 – 30 (Thu-Sat)
Christmas / Winter HolidayDecember 24 – 25 (Tue-Wed)
New Year’s Holiday – 2025December 31 – January 1 (Tue-Wed)